France realizations: a list

I’ve just a passed a week in France.

Why not celebrate it with a list? …or a few macarons…

Macarons from Maison Larnicol.

But actually, let’s get down to business!

5 things I’ve noticed about France:

5. Everybody is dressed to kill. France rules when it comes to street-style and when in Rome, do what the Romans do.    Guess I’ve got to put away the sweats… Bye bye, comfort (or just think positive – hello, new wardrobe)!

Like mother, like daughter.

4. There are more boulangeries/patisseries than convenient stores (they’re called “TABAC” here) – works for me.

Amazingly delicious kouignettes.

3. Peanut butter is not a thing here, which is awesome because Nutella is my first love.

3. “Take your time” is taken literally. There’s no such thing as being in a rush…so let’s just sit down and enjoy this glass of wine with some foie gras.

The famous foie gras.

2. Don’t expect anything to be open on Sundays…and anyone willing to work during their breaks. They really understand and exercise the meaning of rest.

1. Roundabouts are common. Very common. My brother told me that I even dreamt of them. Apparently, I was talking in my sleep, “turn, turn, turn, turn, turn…”, while moving my hands as if I were steering a car.

One of the many fountains in Bordeaux.

If you think this is the end of my list…

First bite into a pistachio macaron.

It’s not.

1 Thing I’ve Noticed About Bordeaux:

1. The Bordeaux sign looks like a toxic/nuclear symbol, and I don’t know how I feel about that.

The Bordeaux symbol.

6 thoughts on “France realizations: a list

    • To be honest, macarons aren’t my favourite…BUT, I must say that I was very impressed by the vanilla one. It tasted exactly how vanilla should taste…without being artificial.

Leave a Reply

